Jaxie

"Fantasy and reality often overlap"– Walt Disney

So You Think You Can Dance!

on August 6, 2009

Anyone who knows me knows that I don’t watch much TV, except for the occassional Food Network @ the gym. SYTYCD has really really really impressed me, and what more, inspired me.  I was a lot more of a dancer a few years ago… ten years ago, especially (when I was a ballerina-chinese folk dance-hip hop-swimmer mutt… what happened?) These past few wednesdays and thursdays have really rekindled that love for me.

This being my first season, and also being the first show I’ve ever been this obsessed with, I wanted to add my thoughts about the final episode 🙂  This could not have been a more perfect lineup… except maybe a little more Melissa and Ade?

  • Top 20: “A Brand New Day” from the Wiz by Tyce DiOrio

I am so glad they did this piece, it was so broadway but also featured everyone’s own styles!  I especially enjoyed the little popping sequence with Phil and that other dude (I forgot his name)… also seeing Melissa en pointe! Also, I love any performance art done well, en masse. I love large choirs. I love large dance numbers (like this one)… it’s like an army of movement all synchronized and infecting my entire body.  Yay, I love dance.

  • Jeanine and Phillip: “Mad” by Ne Yo – Hip Hop by Tabitha and Napoleon

YES YES YES YES YES!!!! first piece of the season, and still  BEST hip hop of the season.  I loved this mostly for that amazing ending.  I miss Phillip, I didn’t think he was made for this show, but I was PSYCHED every time he got hip hop (whoa was he lucky), and I think he was so hard working.  I did not appreciate the comments about him not growing, I think he really did grow… a lot. And I have the hugest crush on that dorky side of him.

  • Janette and Brandon: “Libertango” from Forever Tango – Argentine Tango by Miriam Larici and Leonardo Barrionuevo

Awesome, but I like some of their other stuff better.  Like… that cha cha. I couldn’t get that out of my head for weeks!!!

  • Asuka and Vitolio: “Dreams are More Precious” by Enya – Waltz by Louis Van Amstel

What? Okay, well, nice break from the happy energetic stuff… and I guess it is pretty.  But I’d have much rather seen a Melissa and Ade piece here or something.  But, I guess these two are worthy of dancing (anyone else think Asuka almost fell off the stage?)

  • Jeanine and Jason:  “If It Kills Me By Jason Mraz – Contemporary by  Travis Wall

Amazing amazing amazing amazing.  Can they just… make out on stage a little more? And why did Jeanine say it wasn’t choreographed?  Way to start rumors.  I am so jealous of her. My favorite thing about this piece is the chemistry… by far the most of this competition.  I mean, they were so together at this part (pictured here) when they swing their arms out… and the way at the beginning he holds her leg while she does that horizontal arabesque… WHOA! And I love the locket.  Throwing the heart around? really… just stop and wear it proudly. Then make out with him.

  • Max and Kayla: “Jum Bah Day” by House of Gypsies –  Samba by Louis Van Amstel

Why is this here?  I remember watching this with Mollie Wright and my roomies, and all of us were just confused why people were psyched about it.  I mean… it’s hot I guess.  B+J’s cha cha beat this by FAR and plus I liked their weird princess/guy trying to steal her throne piece a lot better.  Also B+J’s hip hop.  And something by Melissa and Ade.  Anything but this hot pink meh!

  • Top 16: “I Know You Want Me” (Calle Ocho) by Pit Bull -by Dmitry Chaplin, Napoleon and Tabitha.

Whoa the girls are so hot dancing on that water drum thing.  AO AO!  This was a hot piece.

  • Jason and Caitlin: “Jai Ho” from Slumdog Millionaire – Bollywood by Nakul Dev Mahajan

I love this piece, but I would have thought it funny if we saw the alien piece (which I am actually a fan of)… but I guess Caitlin would have been really upset if that were her only chance to shine tonight.  SO bollywood and making out with Jason it is!!!! but this kiss was not even close to that one with Jeanine.  Mmmmm…

  • Randi and Evan: “Koop Island Blues” – The butt dance!    Contemporary by Mia Michaels

So glad this was in here!  I love the butt dance, and I think Randi is so cute for being this shy little married girl with her butt pointed to the world.  She was really perfect with Evan! And he was great in this piece, those were some great flips and twists and butt craziness…despite my lack of support  for his success this season.  I did not agree with all the bashing last night. He really is a phenomenal dancer, and really did do a lot better at that jive last night than he did a few weeks ago.  I know he’s not the best choice for top 4, but he didn’t deserve the stuff that came out of those judges’ mouths. Plus, he’s cute.

  • Jeanine and Brandon: Paso Doble by Louis Van Amstel

Why is this here?!  We saw it last night, feature Melissa and Ade!!!! Jeanine and Brandon have enough attention…

  • Kayla and Kupono: “Gravity” by Sara Bareilles (Addiction) Contemporary by Mia Michaels

No words can describe this piece.  I love Kupono, I think he dropped out at the right time, but I also think he is a looney artistic hawaiian cutie that is so interesting to watch haha.  That part where he won’t let her go and she’s running forward is one of the most memorable images of the season.

  • Janette and Brandon: “Loving Is Really My Game” by Brainstorm – Disco by Doriana Sanchez Disco –

Yes 🙂 Spread eagle lift?  the one where he lifts her horizontally above her head and then she points her bottom foot out?  These two are magical.

  • Melissa and Ade: “This Woman’s Work” by Maxwell  (Breast Cancer dance) by Tyce DiOrio

Powerful, and… finally we get to see these two.  Why did it take so long? Ade deserved so much more spotlight (and so did Melissa).  That was a real big shame.  But they did this piece perfectly. And I actually felt touched this time, moved to tears almost. Also, I want to hug Ade because he is so big and yet so cheery.

Some other things I would have liked to see:

–  Top 3 guys jazz – Top 5 boys do the African dance – Brandon and Jeanette Cha Cha – Melissa and Ade Pas de Deux – Kupono and Ashley Jazz (crash dummy!) – Caitlin and Jason Pop Jazz (alien) – Brandon and Jeanette Hip Hop – Ade and Jeanette Hip Hop – and a lot more of Jeanette Jeanette Jeanette Jeanette… (am I spelling her name right?) –

But great choices, for the most part. If it were up to me, I guess Brandon would be exhausted and would never be able to bench women ever again.

And of course, I am incredibly happy for my new favorite dancer ever, Jeanine Mason.  She talked about role models, but she has truly become one.  I think you can tell from her dancing and the way she acts onstage that she is a beautiful human being… as much as she is a hot spicy pretty lovely (fill in more adjectives here) dancer. I love that she has become a celebrity without being a skinny stick, I LOVE that she has muscles (yes!) and is so sexy.  And she is so goofy too… who wouldn’t want to hang out with her?  I think she will star in a movie one day because she mentioned she wanted to be an actress, and well… now she’s plopped herself in the perfect social network (haha…nerd)


2 responses to “So You Think You Can Dance!

  1. tara says:

    JEANINEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAHHHILOVEYOUMARRYME!

  2. Hann says:

    janette, I think – loved her too T.T but haha yeah jeanine definitely deserves it =)

Leave a comment