Jaxie

"Fantasy and reality often overlap"– Walt Disney

Eating Animals

AHH my favorite author is out with a new book!  Time to make that spontaneous Amazon purchase?

Okay, I never finished Eat Pray Love and I still have 3 other books on my shelf that I was supposed to read this summer.  But I am WAY too excited about Jonathan Safran Foer’s new book Eating Animals… so the rest will have to wait.  Please direct yourselves to Amazon page, then get excited with me!  I am pretty intrigued by the topic:

“Brilliantly synthesizing philosophy, literature, science, memoir and his own detective work, Eating Animals explores the many fictions we use to justify our eating habits-from folklore to pop culture to family traditions and national myth-and how such tales can lull us into a brutal forgetting.”

Also, if you have never heard of this author or have never heard me GUSH about his writing, please read Everything is Illuminated and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. These books are fiction (and fantastic beyond belief), so I hope his new nonfiction lives up to my expectations!!  Hooray for satisfying my inner bookworm.

2 Comments »